People ask this as though there were a number on a packet somewhere. There is not — and understanding why is more useful than being handed a figure.
The regulatory answer
There is no numerical daily limit for gellan gum.
Both JECFA and the European Food Safety Authority have concluded that no acceptable daily intake (ADI) figure is needed. This is expressed as "ADI not specified", which is a defined regulatory term. It means:
The available toxicity data and exposure data were considered adequate, and the substance is of such low toxicity that setting a numerical limit serves no purpose.
It is the most favourable outcome a scientific committee can give. It is not a statement that unlimited quantities are harmless, and it does not mean the substance is unstudied — quite the opposite. It means the studies were good enough to establish that the hazard is low across a very wide dose range.
JECFA added one qualifier worth knowing: a potential laxative effect at high intakes should be taken into account. That is the effective upper boundary in practice, and it is a comfort threshold rather than a safety threshold.
What the evidence covers
The doses behind those conclusions are large:
| Study | Dose | Finding |
|---|---|---|
| Chronic study, mice | Up to 3,627 mg/kg body weight/day | No adverse effects at the highest dose tested |
| Chronic study, rats | Up to 1,460 mg/kg body weight/day | No adverse effects at the highest dose tested |
| Human tolerance study | Roughly 175–200 mg/kg body weight/day for about 3 weeks | Increased stool bulk; no adverse physiological effects; no change in markers of organ function |
To put the human study in perspective: 200 mg/kg per day for a 70 kg adult is 14 grams of gellan gum every day for three weeks. That is a supplement-sized dose, not a food-sized one.
What real intake actually looks like
This is where the arithmetic becomes genuinely reassuring.
Gellan gum is used at very low levels, and the reason is functional: it works at low levels. In a beverage used for suspension, typical use is around 0.02 % to 0.05 %. In a gel it might be 0.1 % to 0.5 %.
| Product | Typical gellan gum level | Amount in a serving |
|---|---|---|
| Plant-based milk, 250 ml | 0.03 % | About 75 mg |
| Ready-to-drink protein shake, 330 ml | 0.04 % | About 130 mg |
| Fruit juice with pulp, 500 ml | 0.03 % | About 150 mg |
| Fruit jelly dessert, 150 g | 0.3 % | About 450 mg |
| Vegan gummy candy, 100 g | 0.5 % | About 500 mg |
A heavy day of eating gellan gum-containing products might total one to two grams. Against a 70 kg adult body weight, that is roughly 15 to 30 mg/kg per day — an order of magnitude below the human tolerance study, and far below the animal no-effect levels.
The EFSA exposure assessment reached a similar conclusion from the other direction. The highest-exposure population identified was toddlers at the 95th percentile, at up to 72.4 mg/kg body weight per day, and the panel still found no safety concern. For a 12 kg toddler, that figure corresponds to roughly 870 mg per day — which is about three litres of plant-based milk, or a very determined day of jelly desserts.
Where a real limit does apply
There are three circumstances in which "no numerical limit" should not be treated as "no limit":
1. Product-specific rules, not safety rules. In the EU, authorisation of E 418 is category-specific under Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008. Some categories carry maximum levels or quantum satis conditions. Those are legal limits attached to a food category, and they apply regardless of the ADI position.
2. Very high supplement intakes. Concentrated gummy supplements and fibre blends can deliver several grams per day. At that level, the laxative effect noted by JECFA becomes the relevant consideration for an individual.
3. Individuals with specific conditions. People with IBS or a diagnosed sensitivity to non-digestible polysaccharides may notice effects at much lower doses than the general population. That is individual, not general.
The practical summary
| Question | Answer |
|---|---|
| Is there a legal daily maximum? | No numerical ADI; "not specified" |
| What is the practical ceiling? | The point at which a laxative effect appears — far above food intake |
| How much do people actually eat? | Typically well under a gram per day from food; more with gummy supplements |
| Should I worry about intake from food? | No. The margins are orders of magnitude |
For dosage guidance and specification data on gellan gum (E418), see Cinogel.
Part of the E418.org gellan gum knowledge base. This article is general information, not medical advice.